WMTGC is looking for nominations for the 2019 Fred Meijer Trail Champions for trail volunteers, trail professionals and trail maintenance.  This is the fourth year WMTGC has honored trail champions in West Michigan.  If you know of a Trail Champion you would like to see honored, please nominate them TODAY!  

The 2018 Trail Volunteer award recipient is Sue Hodapp. Hodapp is a Master Gardener from the MSU Extension Master Gardener Volunteer Program. She has led a group maintaining native plants between F and G Avenues in Kalamazoo County. Hodapp’s contribution to Michigan trails include eradication of invasive plants, encouragement of Michigan wildflowers, placing informational signage, and careful maintenance of trails. 

The 2018 Trail Professional award recipient is Scott Post. Post is an award winning civil engineer working for Prein & Newhof. He has devoted his career to designing, engineering, and overseeing construction of non-motorized trails in Michigan. 

The 2018 Trail Maintenance award recipient is David Heyboer and Friends of the White Pine Trail. Heyboer has been involved with the trail systems in West Michigan for more than 20 years and shows passion to expand and maintain the Fred Meijer White Pine Trail State Park for current and future users. The Friends of the White Pine Trail team work to maintain the expansive Michigan trail for year-round use. 

To learn more about the award recipients and nominate next a 2019 champion, visit